Daniel Barenboim: The Warsaw Recital

Accentus Music: ACC10202A

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Daniel Barenboim: The Warsaw Recital

Catalogue No:




Release date:

7th Feb 2011






| Share

Daniel Barenboim: The Warsaw Recital

Celebrating Frédéric Chopin’s 200th birthday. Live from the Warsaw Philharmonic Concert Hall


Piano Sonata No. 2 in B flat minor, Op. 35 'Marche funèbre'

Fantasia in F minor, Op. 49

Nocturne No. 8 in D flat major, Op. 27 No. 2

Barcarolle in F sharp major, Op. 60

Waltz No. 2 in A flat major 'Grande Valse Brillante', Op. 34 No. 1

Waltz No. 3 in A minor 'Grande Valse Brillante', Op. 34 No. 2

Waltz No. 7 in C sharp minor, Op. 64 No. 2

Berceuse in D flat major, Op. 57

Polonaise No. 6 in A flat major, Op. 53 'Héroïque'

Mazurka No. 7 in F minor, Op. 7 No. 3

Waltz No. 6 in D flat major, Op. 64 No. 1 'Minute Waltz'



Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

Frédéric Chopin Year 2010 coincides with the 60th anniversary of Daniel Barenboim’s stage début, and as a pianist he has decided to devote this year to the great Romantic master of the keyboard.

Chopin was born on 1 March 1810 in a small village near Warsaw, and on the eve of the 200th anniversary of this date Barenboim gave this wildly acclaimed Warsaw recital as part of an extensive European tour.

The program comprised some of the composer’s best-known works, including the great B flat minor Sonata with its famous Funeral March, which sounded to many “as the composer may well have imagined it”.

While Chopin used to advise his piano scholars to take singing lessons, Barenboim, as an experienced conductor of operas is most familiar with the human voice as well. With his brilliant virtuosity, he lead the audience through a most colorful program, once again proving his talent for this composer.

Picture Format Blu-Ray: HDCAM 1080/59,94

Sound Formats Blu-Ray: DTS HD Master Audio PCM Stereo

Region Code: 0 (worldwide)

Running Time: 90:45

Disc Format: BD 25

FSK: 0

BBC Music Magazine

January 2011


“Not especially celebrated for his Chopin...Barenboim is - it goes without saying - a towering musician who is worth hearing here...Opening with the F minor Fantasia, Barenboim is on magisterial and musically imaginative form. His almost Lisztian approach to the B flat minor Sonata is excitingly turbulent””

Gramophone Magazine

February 2011

“The Barcarolle and sequence of three Waltzes are quite beguiling...a magnificent and genuinely impassioned account of the A flat major Polonaise...The neat, unfussy direction makes the film a pleasure to watch.”

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.