Martha Argerich & Mischa Maisky

Accentus Music: ACC10224

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Martha Argerich & Mischa Maisky

Catalogue No:




Release date:

31st May 2011






| Share

Martha Argerich & Mischa Maisky


Scherzo capriccioso, Op. 66

Luzerner Sinfonieorchester, Neeme Järvi

Franck, C:

Cello Sonata in A major

Martha Argerich (piano) & Mischa Maisky (violoncello)


Double Concerto for piano, violoncello and orchestra 'Romantic Offering'

World Premiere

Martha Argerich (piano) & Mischa Maisky (violoncello)

Luzerner Sinfonieorchester, Neeme Järvi


Symphony No. 9 in E flat major, Op. 70

Luzerner Sinfonieorchester, Neeme Järvi



Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

At one of her rare appearances with orchestra, Martha Argerich, the grande dame of the piano, joined forces with world-famous cellist Mischa Maisky and the fabulous Lucerne Symphony Orchestra for the world premiere of a newly commissioned work by Russian composer Rodion Shchedrin – “Romantic Offering”, a double concerto for piano, cello and orchestra dedicated to its very first soloists.

“I’ve attempted to depict and highlight the most distinctive individual qualities of these two musicians … Romantic Offering should inspire new thoughts and experiences. Music isn’t only the product of experiment. It should move your soul and touch your heart.” Rodion Shchedrin

The programme was rounded off by late-Romantic masterpieces by César Franck, Antonín Dvořák and Dmitri Shostakovich’s Ninth Symphony under the baton of renowned maestro Neeme Järvi.

BONUS: Behind the Scenes of a WORLD PREMIERE with Rodion Shchedrin, Martha Argerich and Mischa Maisky.

Picture Format Blu-ray: Full HD

Sound Formats Blu-ray: DTS HD Master Audio, PCM Stereo

Region Code: 0 (worldwide)

Running Time: 111:36 min

Running Time Bonus: 16:20 min

Disc Format: BD 25

FSK: 0

BBC Music Magazine

September 2011


“There's plenty of contrast [in the Shchedrin]: the misalliance of the two soloists, who only really come together in the climbing apotheosis; the cello in extreme registers; the piano's toccata mania; and all of it done with the highest artistry. Argerich is superb in every nuance.”

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.