Bruckner: Symphony No. 5 in B flat major

Accentus Music: ACC10243

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Bruckner: Symphony No. 5 in B flat major


Gramophone Awards 2012

Best of Category - DVD Performance

Catalogue No:




Release date:

30th April 2012






| Share

Bruckner: Symphony No. 5 in B flat major

Nowak edition



Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

at LUCERNE FESTIVAL in Summer 2011

“Abbado’s approach to the music of Bruckner is soft and songlike, at times tense and urgent, but constantly filled with warmth of feeling” – not only the Neue Zürcher Zeitung is full of praise when Claudio Abbado and the Lucerne Festival Orchestra play Bruckner.

Their interpretation of his awe-inspiring Fifth Symphony reflects the composer’s burgeoning powers and exquisite compositional artistry. As The Guardian poetically states: “The composer himself, one suspects, might have leapt to embrace Abbado as an ideal interpreter.”

Picture Format DVD: 16:9 NTSC


Sound Formats DVD: DTS HD Master Audio, PCM Stereo

Region Code: 0 (worldwide)

Running Time: 80:33 min

Disc Format: BD 25

Financial Times

2nd June 2012


“This performance curtails the silences in the interests of the Italian conductor Claudio Abbado’s linear approach...This is Bruckner sunny side up, lending a molto espressivo bloom to the string cantilenas in the opening movement and a con amore sparkle to the brass chorales. The orchestra, combining old friends and young talents, radiates a fabulously chamber-musical quality.”

Click here for alternative recordings of this work.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.