John Cage: Journeys in Sound

Accentus Music: ACC10246

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
John Cage: Journeys in Sound

Catalogue No:




Release date:

1st Oct 2012






| Share

John Cage: Journeys in Sound



Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

A documentary by Oscar winning director Allan Miller and Paul Smaczny to mark the composer’s centenary

A sonic innovator or an expert on chance? A writer or an anarchist? A specialist in mushrooms or a performance artist? A Zen master or a cook? John Cage was all of these things.

On the occasion of his centenary in Autumn 2012, this documentary by Oscar-winner Allan Miller and Emmy-winner Paul Smaczny pays tribute to the most fascinating American avant-garde composer John Cage. Shot in America, Germany and Japan, the program premieres rare archival footage; presenting concert excerpts and a set of short episodes, featuring associates of Cage and contemporary artists, playfully delineating different aspects of John Cage.

The documentary features interviews with Yoko Ono, David Tudor, Christian Wolff, Steffen Schleiermacher, Irvine Arditti, Toshio Hosokawa, Mayumi Miyata, Calvin Tomkins and many others.

Picture Format Blu-ray: NTSC 16:9, FULL HD

Sound Formats Blu-ray: DTS HD MASTER AUDIO, PCM Stereo

Region Code: 0 (worldwide)

Running Time: 60:35 min

Bonus: 49:25 min

Disc Format: BD 25

Subtitles: German, English, French, Japanese, Korean

BBC Music Magazine

January 2013


“'I think our aim should be to have more and more access to the enjoyment of life', says John Cage in this lucid and eminently watchable DVD which is packed with people and history and some wonderful performances of Cage's music....This DVD certainly contributes to the enjoyment of life...and to the enjoyment of John Cage.”

Financial Times

6th October 2012

“This fascinating, eloquent DVD draws on archive footage of the composer at work and interviews with surviving collaborators”

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.