Mahler: Symphony No. 6 in A minor 'Tragic'

Accentus Music: ACC10268

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Mahler: Symphony No. 6 in A minor 'Tragic'

Catalogue No:




Release date:

4th Nov 2013






| Share

Mahler: Symphony No. 6 in A minor 'Tragic'



Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

"The audience knows that the performance of a Mahler symphony is not only a musical experience, but is also emotionally effective" (R. Chailly). This counts especially for Mahler's enigmatic sixth symphony, an emotionally stirring challenge for both performers and listeners, whilst also being one of the most impressive works in musical history. Chailly's interpretation with the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra is "intensely great" (Die Presse). "Chailly uncompromisingly considers this sixth symphony through the lens of modernity; looking forward, not retrospectively staying in ‘late romantic’. In this celebrated orchestra, all sections splendidly come together and fulfil an ‘open’ sound, conserving whilst respecting its original beauty." (Salzburger Nachrichten)


“My Sixth will propound riddles”

A panel discussion with Riccardo Chailly and Reinhold Kubik

Picture Format BD: NTSC 16:9


Sound Formats BD: PCM Stereo, DTS HD Master Audio

Region Code: 0 (worldwide)

Running Time: 86:25 min

Running Time Bonus: 18:26 min

Disc Format: DVD-9

Subtitles Bonus: Deutsch (original), English, Français

Financial Times

28th December 2013


“The interpretation is brisk and joined-up, with an orchestra in peak form – not least in the Andante, where the Gewandhaus’s golden strings and woodwinds are heard to advantage. All that’s missing is the last ounce of intensity.”

Gramophone Magazine

March 2014

“the playing of Chailly's Gewandhaus Orchestra is unarguably superb and it is fair to say that not even Abbado or Boulez reveal more in the way of instrumental substrata...Mahler's rural interludes glisten in decidedly novel fashion, sounding as much like Berio as Bruckner...It's a sensational package in its way”

Click here for alternative recordings of this work.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.