Chopin: The Piano Concertos

Accentus Music: ACC20104

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Chopin: The Piano Concertos

Catalogue No:




Release date:

1st Nov 2010




DVD Video




| Share

Chopin: The Piano Concertos


Piano Concerto No. 2 in F minor, Op. 21

Evgeny Kissin (piano)

Piano Concerto No. 1 in E minor, Op. 11

Nikolai Demidenko (piano)

DVD Video


Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

To mark the bicentenary of Chopin’s birth, two leading Russian pianists tackle the great Romantic composer’s two piano concertos: Evgeny Kissin plays the F minor Concerto op. 21, a key work in Chopin’s output, while Nikolai Demidenko performs the E minor Concerto op. 11, a virtuoso display vehicle of the first rank. They are accompanied by the Warsaw Philharmonic under the direction of Antoni Wit. Enthusiastically acclaimed by the audience at Warsaw’s Philharmonic Hall on 27 February 2010, this memorable concert has been captured in first-class sound and picture quality.

Picture Format DVD: NTSC 16:9

Sound Formats DVD: Dolby Digital 5.1., DTS 5.1, PCM Stereo

Region Code: 0 (worldwide)

Running Time: 96:54 min

Disc Format: DVD 9

FSK: 0

BBC Music Magazine

January 2011


“Anyone who (like me) has found themselves resistant to Kissin's toy-soldier showmanship...needs to hear his brilliant account of the Concerto in F minor...In pianism of bel canto beauty, Kissin uncovers all the yearning of the slow movement, and delivers a crisp finale notable for its elastic buoyancy and perfectly judged rubatos.”

International Record Review

May 2011

“Throughout the first movement [of No. 1] there is no sense of showmanship for its own sake...Kissin's approach is altogether more pianistic, an emphatic revelry in the possibilities of the instrument. Throughout his performance one is struck by the exacting precision of his playing - has there been such note-perfect playing since Michelangeli?”

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.