Bach, J S: St Matthew Passion, BWV244

Accentus Music: ACC20256

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Bach, J S: St Matthew Passion, BWV244

Catalogue No:




Release date:

3rd Sept 2012




DVD Video




| Share

Bach, J S: St Matthew Passion, BWV244

Christina Landshamer (soprano), Stefan Kahle (alto), Wolfram Lattke (tenor), Martin Lattke (tenor), Klaus Mertens (bass), Gotthold Schwarz (bass)

St. Thomas Boys Choir Leipzig & Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, St. Thomas Cantor Georg Christoph Biller

DVD Video - 2 discs


Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

The renowned St. Thomas Boys Choir of Leipzig, which boasts J. S. Bach as a former cantor, celebrates its 800th anniversary with an extraordinary interpretation of the St. Matthew Passion. The Guardian praised how “the harmonic lines interwove with a transcendence that can only be achieved through living, eating and working together”.

This Accentus Music production is the only audio-visual release of Bach’s St. Matthew Passion, performed by the choir for which it was written, in St. Thomas Church, Leipzig, where the composer worked and is buried.

Picture Format DVD: NTSC 16:9

Sound Formats DVD: Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS 5.1, PCM Stereo

Region Code: 0 (worldwide)

Running Time: 163:58 min

Disc Format: DVD-9 (2 DVD)

Subtitles: German, English, French, Korean

BBC Music Magazine

December 2012


“This is a performance which has Bach liturgically wired into its DNA...Biller's direction exudes profound integrity and commitment, the chorales in particular shaped by a deeply-felt inevitability...this is a moving testament to a choir celebrating 800 years and probably stronger than ever.”

Gramophone Magazine

January 2013

“the opening frames of the works skittle forth with clear textures, unforced choral interjections and the elan of an especially agile German all-boys' choir. Likewise, the orchestra is entirely at home in Georg Christoph Biller's exacting gestural landscape...This is a reading which confirms a strong identity with Bach and the new Leipzig 'way' of performing his music but keeps within fairly geometric emotional bounds.”

Click here for alternative recordings of this work.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.