Lloyd, G: Requiem, etc.

Albany: TROY450

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Lloyd, G: Requiem, etc.


Penguin Guide

Rosette Winner



Catalogue No:




Release date:

1st Aug 2002




| Share

Lloyd, G:


Psalm 130

Stephen Wallace (counter-tenor), Jeffrey Makinson (organ)

Exon Singers, Matthew Owens



Usually despatched in 8 - 10 working days.

The Requiem was George Lloyd’s final work. The score is inscribed, “Written in memory of Diana, Princess of Wales,” and the work is also a conscious leave-taking on the part of the composer. It is scored for small chorus, counter-tenor soloist and organ. The simple scale of the forces reflects Lloyd’s realization that he might not be able to complete a large orchestral score in the time he had remaining to him. The pencil score was started in the autumn of 1997 and was completed on January 23, 1998. The final proofing of the score was completed in early May 1998. George Lloyd died on July 3 of that year. The work was premiered at St. Barnabas Church, Oxford as part of the Oxford Contemporary Music Festival in Spring 2000. Lloyd used the standard Requiem text in Latin. The libera me is the usual end, but it is not considered essential, so in typical fashion, Lloyd preferred to end the work on a hopeful note, so finished with the lux aeterna. The work is quiet and reflective in tone, and is the first and only one of Lloyd’s works written for the counter-tenor voice, which lends the work a timeless quality and a particularly spiritual dimension. Although Lloyd was known for his ebullient and energetic climaxes, this work by contrast is generally quiet in tone. It is Italian in style, and moves between modal and romantic idioms and in typical George Lloyd fashion, it is unabashedly beautiful. Psalm 130 was written in 1995 for a cappella voices, and was commissioned by Mr. John D. Owens. How obvious it is in this wonderful music that George Lloyd adored singers and the expressive power of the human voice.

Copyright © 2002-14 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.