Güher & Süher Pekinel - Live in Concert

Arthaus Musik: 101349

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Güher & Süher Pekinel - Live in Concert

Catalogue No:

(101 349)



Release date:

30th Nov 2009




DVD Video




| Share

Güher & Süher Pekinel - Live in Concert

Live concerts from London, Lucerne & Zurich


Sonata for 2 pianos in F minor, Op. 34b


Variations on a Theme by Paganini, for two pianos


Scaramouche, suite for two pianos, Op. 165b


Concerto for 2 Pianos and Orchestra No. 10 in E flat, K365


Concerto in D minor for Two Pianos & Orchestra

DVD Video


Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

Güher and Süher Pekinel is the exceptional Turkish twin piano duo that has gained international success over the past 40 years. Starting as prodigies in their early childhood, they had their first public performance at the age of six. Their career brought them from Turkey over to France, Germany, Japan, the US, Great Britain and many more.

Güher and Süher Pekinel are known for playing the piano backto-back, only relying on sound. Their ability is often described as a telepathic gift which offers the listener a perfectly balanced sound. This internationally often adored style of piano playing gives each performance an engrossed tension and makes it a unique musical experience.

This DVD comprises the remarkable live concerts from London, Lucerne and Zurich which are conducted by the brilliant Sir Colin Davis and famous Chinese conductor Muhai Tang. Both belong to the greatest maestri of our time and bring these Pekinel concerts to a musical highlight. Together with the special bonus that shows an interview of the sisters in London, 2009 this DVD is a sublime document of amazing Güher & Süher Pekinel.

BONUS: Interview + Special Features with Jacques Loussier

Sound Format: PCM STEREO

DVD Format: DVD 9, NTSC

Picture Format: 16:9

Running Time: 88 mins + 42 mins Bonus

Subtitle Languages: B, DE, FR, ES, TR, JP

FSK: 0

BBC Music Magazine

January 2011


“Turkish identical twins who never glance at each other, yet play as though governed by a single brain. Their Mozart is serene, their Milhaud unfettered, their Brahms majestic.”

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.