Celibidache Rehearses Bruckner’s Ninth

Arthaus Musik: 101555

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Celibidache Rehearses Bruckner’s Ninth

Catalogue No:




Release date:

28th Feb 2011




DVD Video




| Share

Celibidache Rehearses Bruckner’s Ninth

A Jan Schmidt-Garre Film


Symphony No. 9 in D Minor

DVD Video


This item is currently out of stock at the UK distributor. You may order it now but please be aware that it may be six weeks or more before it can be despatched.

For a full sixty minutes Celibidache rehearses Bruckner’s Ninth – a key work for the composer, who did not complete any more compositions after he finished the Adagio. It is also a key work for Celibidache, who towards the end of his life frequently returned to working on Bruckner’s late symphonies, performing them in guest appearances all over the world with the Munich Philharmonic Orchestra. In no other documentary film about Celibidache does one experience with such immediacy the moment of music being created.

“I breathe with you, and that is the secret of phrasing: where you breathe and how you breathe.” “We always think that there’s an interpretation. An interpretation of what? How can you interpret a landscape? If you have to go from Plön to Eutin, are there interpretations? Or do you have to come up with the lakes, the forests, the pathways and so on? You can’t interpret them. You can experience them – and that’s the difference!” Sergiu Celibidache

Sound Format: PCM Stereo

Picture Format: 16:9

DVD Format: DVD 5, NTSC

Subtitle Languages: DE, GB, FR, ES, IT, JP

Running Time: 60 mins

FSK: 0

BBC Music Magazine

June 2011


“The first five minutes are uncomfortable. After that, with Celibidache virtually the camera's sole focus as he rehearses the Adagio of Bruckner's Ninth Symphony, this film is hard to resist.”

Click here for alternative recordings of this work.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.