Kalman: Die Zirkusprinzessin

Arthaus Musik: 101596

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Kalman: Die Zirkusprinzessin

Catalogue No:




Release date:

30th Jan 2012




DVD Video




| Share

Kalman: Die Zirkusprinzessin

Operetta Film from 1969

Ingeborg Hallstein (Fedora), Rudolf Schock (Mister X), Isy Orén (Mabel), Peter Karner (Toni), Jane Tilden (Carla Schlumberger) & Peter Frankenfeld (Pinelli)

Symphony Orchestra Kurt Graunke, Munich, Werner Schmidt-Boelcke

DVD Video


Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

Director of Photography HELMUT SCHINDLER

Emmerich Kálman (1882-1953) ranks next to Franz Lehár as one of the leading representatives of the „Silver Era“ of the operetta, which was stamped above all by the works of the Austro-Hungarian cultural sphere, and which followed the classical period of the Viennese operetta. The roots of the phenomenal originality of his melodies lie in his love of Hungarian gypsy music and his natural affi nity for the Viennese waltz tradition, which characterize such musically original, international successes as the operettas „The Czardas Princess“ (1915), „Countess Maritza“ (1924) and „The Circus Princess“ (1926). Kálmán emigrated to America in 1939 but returned to Europe after the War and died in Paris on 30 October 1953. Beginning in the 1920s, he increasingly incorporated elements of modern dance music into his stage works.

In this entertaining fi lm version some of the great singeractors from the 1960s and 70s can once again be seen and heard – names like Ingeborg Hallstein, Rudolf Schock and Peter Frankenfeld.

Sound Format: PCM Stereo

Picture Format: 4:3

DVD Format: DVD 9, NTSC

Subtitle Languages: DE (Original Language), GB, FR

Running Time: 111 mins

FSK: 0

Click here for alternative recordings of this work.

Copyright © 2002-16 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.