Overture 1912: Deutsche Oper Berlin

Arthaus Musik: 101666

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Overture 1912: Deutsche Oper Berlin

Catalogue No:




Release date:

29th April 2013




DVD Video




| Share

Overture 1912: Deutsche Oper Berlin

A Film by Enrique Sánchez Lansch

featuring Karan Armstrong, Götz Friedrich, Josef Greindl, René Kollo, Jesús López Cobos, Christa Ludwig, Barry McDaniel, Hans Neuenfels, Aribert Reimann, Donald Runnicles, Dietmar Schwarz, Júlia Várady and the last interview with Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau in 2012

DVD Video


Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

In 2012 the Deutsche Oper in Berlin had its centennial celebrations. Although today’s building was not opened until 1961, the history of the house on the Bismarckstrasse goes further back: it was built in 1912 and opened as Deutsches Opernhaus upon the initiative of a group of people from Berlin–Charlottenburg as the citizen’s opera in opposition to the Königliche Hofoper, now Staatsoper Unter den Linden. The fi lm illustrates all facets of the different eras of this Berlin opera institution from the beginnings until today through interviews with artists closely connected to the Deutsche Oper Berlin as well as a large variety of archive footage that also includes documentations of rehearsals and performances from the last 100 years.

Sound Format: PCM Stereo

Picture Format: 16:9

DVD Format: DVD 9 / NTSC

Audio Language: Deutsch

Subtitle Languages: GB, FR

Running Time: 89 mins

FSK: 0

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.