Shostakovich: Symphony No. 4 in C minor, Op. 43

Avi Music: AVI8553235

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 4 in C minor, Op. 43


Avi Music

Catalogue No:




Release date:

14th Nov 2011




| Share

Shostakovich: Symphony No. 4 in C minor, Op. 43

Staatsorchester Rheinische Philharmonie, Daniel Raiskin



Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

Daniel Raiskin writes: “Learning more about Shostakovich “growing” into his music over the years, and having listened at last to a number of live performances of the 4th Symphony, I felt a strong urge to become part of this “universe” by discovering it anew myself with a group of musicians I could trust… Never before have I experienced music as such a uniting factor!”

Gramophone Magazine

March 2012

“While the interpretation as such is not startlingly original, the tempi mainstream, Raiskin obtains a freshness of texture that's undeniably appealing, evidence of thorough preparation and intense commitment. Best of all, the temptation to rush or otherwise undersell the finale's titanic final climax is firmly resisted....A valid, sometimes unexpectedly emotive alternative to the heftier sonorities of Gergiev and Co.”

Click here for alternative recordings of this work.

Copyright © 2002-15 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.