Brahms: Violin Concerto & Violin Sonata No. 1

BIS: BIS2172

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Brahms: Violin Concerto & Violin Sonata No. 1



Catalogue No:




Release date:

2nd June 2017






Hybrid Multi-channel
| Share
Released or re-released in last 6 months

Brahms: Violin Concerto & Violin Sonata No. 1


Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 77

Lucerne Symphony Orchestra, James Gaffigan

Violin Sonata No. 1 in G major, Op. 78

Angela Yoffe (piano)

Vadim Gluzman (violin)


Normally: $14.25

Special: $13.00

Scheduled for release on 2 June 2017. Order it now and we will deliver it as soon as it is available.

One of Johannes Brahms’s sunniest works, the Violin Concerto in D major was conceived during the summer of 1878, which Brahms spent by the idyllic Wörthersee in Kärnten, Austria. By the end of the summer he was able to send the violin part of the first movement, and the beginning of the Finale to his friend Joseph Joachim. Brahms asked Joachim for advice regarding the writing for violin, and also told him that he was planning a work in four movements. By the time Joachim gave the first performance of the work, on New Year’s Day 1879, the two had discussed the work in depth, Brahms had replaced the two projected inner movements with the glowing Adagio, and Joachim had composed a first version of his own cadenza, which still is the one most often performed.

Vadim Gluzman, who on BIS has previously released Romantic war-horses such as the concertos by Tchaikovsky and Bruch to critical acclaim, now takes on Brahms with the support of the Luzerner Sinfonieorchester under James Gaffigan. He combines it with the composer’s Violin Sonata No. 1, written more or less in tandem with the concerto, performing it with his wife and recital partner Angela Yoffe.

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.