Puccini: Turandot

C Major: 700404

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Puccini: Turandot


C Major

Catalogue No:




Release date:

30th Nov 2009






| Share

Puccini: Turandot

Maria Guleghina (Turandot), Marco Berti (Calaf), Alexia Voulgaridou (Liù), Alexander Tsymbalyuk (Timur), Javier Agulló (Altoum), Fabio Previati (Ping), Vicente Esteve (Pang), Roger Padullés (Pong), Venteslav Anastasov (Un mandarino), Ossama Badreddine (Il Principe di Persia)

Orquestra de la Comunitat Valenciana, Zubin Mehta



Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

Stage / Video Director - Chen Kaige

This 2008 production is staged by Chen Kaige, the film director of Farewell My Concubine and winner of the Palme d'Or at Cannes Film Festival.

Shot in full HD, including Bonus material behind the scenes.

Maria Guleghina is one of the most celebrated and acclaimed sopranos of the world. The leading international tenor Marco Berti is recognised as one of the most important artists from Italy.

from Valencia's spectacular Calatrava opera house "Palau de les Arts Reina Sofía", 2008, with its phenomenal acoustics and breathtaking architecture.

Bonus - Making of Turandot (36 min.)

156 min. (120´ Opera + 36´ Bonus)

16:9, HD

DTS 5.1, PCM Stereo

German, French., English, Spanish, Italian (original language)

Gramophone Magazine

March 2010

“Drawing on his intimate knowledge of traditional Chinese theatre and spectacle, Chen and his designers, Liu King and Chen Tong Xun, give us a Turandot in extravagant colours and choreography, true to the spirit of fable and legend… Maria Guleghina must surely not be the Turandot of our time. The role seems to hold no terrors for her... Zubin Mehta's...direction of the Valenciana Orchestra brims with drama and affection.”

BBC Music Magazine

August 2010


“Turandot has always been one of Zubin Mehta's calling cards, and he rarely disappoints here in Valencia. The sweep of this great score is admirably balanced by a proper attention to orchestral and instrumental detail.”

Click here for alternative recordings of this work.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.