Prokofiev: The Gambler, Op. 24

C Major: 701804

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Prokofiev: The Gambler, Op. 24


Gramophone Awards 2010

Finalist - DVD Performance

Gramophone Magazine

DVD of the Month - July 2010


C Major

Catalogue No:




Release date:

29th March 2010






| Share

Prokofiev: The Gambler, Op. 24

Misha Didyk (Alexei), Kristine Opolais (Polina), Vladimir Ognovenko (General), Stefania Toczyska (Babulenka), Stephan Rügamer (The Marquis), Sylvia de la Muela (Blanche), Viktor Rud (Mr Astley)

Staatskapelle Berlin, Daniel Barenboim (conductor) & Dmitri Tcherniakov (stage director)



Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

First release on Blu-ray.

This production from 2009 is staged by young up-and-coming director Dmitri Tcherniakov, who worked at Bolshoi, Mariinsky, Opera de Bastille, La Scala, and various opera houses in Germany.

The opera is based on the famous novel “The Gambler” by Dostoyevsky

BBC Music Magazine

June 2010


“Barenboim's crystal-clear pacing of the score is hard-hitting rather than quicksilvery, but the payoff in the last Act is terrific, and the blue-lit look of it all - Tcherniakov designed it, too - works well...No wonder Barenboim and Tcherniakov try to lift each other up in the wings at the end.”

Gramophone Magazine

July 2010

“Tcherniakov in Berlin has chosen to mirror the capitalist excesses of our day and does so with tireless attention to detail...Kristine Opolais as Polina and especially Misha Didyk as Alexei both look and sound well...[Barenboim] is here at his most obviously committed. He has found in the piece a depth and expressionist power that brings us close to the world of Wozzeck.”

Click here for alternative recordings of this work.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.