Bruckner: Symphonies Nos. 4 & 7

C Major: 701908

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Bruckner: Symphonies Nos. 4 & 7


C Major

Catalogue No:




Release date:

29th March 2010




DVD Video




| Share

Bruckner: Symphonies Nos. 4 & 7


Symphony No. 4 in Eb Major 'Romantic'

Symphony No. 7 in E Major

DVD Video


Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

Christian Thielemann is widely regarded as the leading Brucknerian of our age, and his performances with the Munich Philharmonic, of which he has been music director since 2004, enjoy cult status all over the world. This DVD features a world première of Bruckner´s two most popular works, the Symphonies No. 4 and No. 7, which he interprets as sublime cathedrals of late Romantic music, impressing his listeners in ways that few other conductors can do.

Video director Agnes Méth

First on DVD: Thielemann´s fantastic performances of Bruckner´s two most popular works.

Thielemann is a maestro internationally known and admired above all as a specialist of Romantic music and a highly acclaimed Bayreuth Wagner Ring conductor.

“Under Christian Thielemann's guidance, the Munich Philharmonic sounds terrific.” New York Times 2007

“Christian Thielemann is the most gifted German conductor." Financial Times

Running Time 145 minutes

Picture 16:9, color

Sound PCM Stereo, DTS 5.1

Packaging NTSC: Amaray 1 DVD

Booklet English, German, French

Gramophone Magazine

August 2010

“Dynamic control is masterly, paragraphs are clearly marked, silences fully exploited, climaxes expertly tiered...Agnes Meth's video direction is excellent. As reportage it is superb, as a piece of visually conceived musical analysis the camerawork outscores even the finest programme essay.”

BBC Music Magazine

August 2010


“There are some thrilling successes - the climaxes of both slow movements in particular”

MusicWeb International

9th September 2013

“The overriding impression is of breadth. The movement timings show him to be towards the slower end of the spectrum...At the end of each work there are little nods of approval between the players. Thielemann certainly has them with him rather than against him - they watch him closely. I cannot praise their playing too highly. Incidentally, the violins are divided, giving lots of nice antiphonal affects.”

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.