Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 1-3

C Major: 704708

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 1-3


C Major

Catalogue No:




Release date:

29th Nov 2010




DVD Video




| Share

Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 1-3

and Documentaries about each Symphony


Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 21

Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 36

Symphony No. 3 in E flat major, Op. 55 'Eroica'

Coriolan Overture, Op. 62

Egmont Overture, Op. 84

DVD Video - 3 discs


Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

This is the start of a Beethoven Symphonies cycle (Nos. 1-9) with Christian Thielemann and the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra. The Beethoven cycle of the 21st century!

2 DVD set:

DVD 1: Symphonies

DVD 2: 3 Documentaries - In a one-hour-long film for each symphony Maestro Thielemann and Joachim Kaiser (Germany´s most famous music critic) discuss and analyze in an entertaining conversational exchange Thielemann’s interpretation, complemented by excerpts from rehearsals as well as comparisons of Beethoven cycles with Karajan, Bernstein etc. – no aspect of Beethoven’s symphonic œuvre will remain unaffected!

The Documentaries include footage of performances from Karajan, Bernstein, Böhm, Järvi amongst others!

Total: 325 minutes

Symphonies & Overtures: 155 minutes

Documentaries: 170 minutes

Booklet English, German, French

BBC Music Magazine

March 2011


“The performances, the Vienna Philharmonic on top form, can't help sounding wonderful...oddly, it is the discussions that are the most enjoyable elements in this ambitious set.”

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.