Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 1-9 (complete)

C Major: 705308

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 1-9 (complete)


C Major

Catalogue No:




Release date:

26th Sept 2011




DVD Video




| Share

Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 1-9 (complete)

including nine documentaries in a hardcover box

DVD Video


Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

After the very successful release of the single DVDs we now release Christian Thielemann and the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra performing Beethoven Symphonies Nos. 1 – 9 including nine one hour documentaries, one for each film. Maestro Thielemann and Joachim Kaiser (the most famous German music critic) discuss and analyze in an entertaining conversational exchange Thielemann’s interpretation, complemented by excerpts from rehearsals as well as by comparisons of Beethoven cycles with Karajan, Bernstein, Böhm, Järvi etc. This is the Beethoven cycle of the 21st century!

9 DVDs or 3 Blu-rays in a valuable hardcover box with 16 hours of concerts and documentaries.

“Thielemann´s reading of the Beethoven symphonies stands heads and shoulders above the countless and mostly undistinguishable versions on offer.” Die Presse

“The performances, the Vienna Philharmonic on top form, can't help sounding wonderful...oddly, it is the discussions that are the most enjoyable elements in this ambitious set.” BBC Music Magazine * * */ *

“This is growling, mane-shaking Beethoven: a traditional approach to the music with full sound and large forces. Thielemann takes a precise yet lyrical approach to the music, as he discusses and demonstrates in the three hour-long accompanying musicological discussions.” Classic FM Magazine * * * *

Total: 956 minutes

Symphonies: 446 minutes

Documentaries: 510 minutes

DVD: DTS 5.0, PCM Stereo

Subtitles E, F, Sp, I, Kor., Chin.

NTSC: 3 DVD Amaray boxes in a harcover box (containing 9 DVDs)

International Record Review

January 2012

“the hour-long film that accompanies each of the nine masterpieces chock-full of revealing information...the radiant sanity of [Thielemann's] approach shines through every bar...for a set in which the Austro-German invincibility of this extraordinary music is felt gradually mounting through the cycle as a whole, as if in one magnificent sweep, we haven't had a set to compare seriously with this since Karajan's final cycle of the 1980s.”

Click here for alternative recordings of this work.

Copyright © 2002-16 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.