Beethoven: Missa Solemnis in D major, Op. 123

C Major: 705408

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Beethoven: Missa Solemnis in D major, Op. 123


C Major

Catalogue No:




Release date:

28th Feb 2011




DVD Video




| Share

Beethoven: Missa Solemnis in D major, Op. 123

Krassimira Stoyanova (soprano), Elīna Garanča (mezzo), Michael Schade (tenor), Franz-Josef Selig (bass)

Sächsischer Staatsopernchor Dresden & Staatskapelle Dresden, Christian Thielemann

DVD Video


Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

Features a cast of excellent soloists: Elīna Garanča, Krassimira Stoyanova, Michael Schade & Franz-Josef Selig

Performed on 13th & 14th February 2010 at the traditional memorial concert to commemorate the bombardment of Dresden during the last weeks of World War II.

Subtitles: L, G, E, F, Sp, Jp

Booklet: E, G, F

No. of Discs: 1

Run time: 90 minutes

Disc Format: DVD9

Picture: NTSC, 16:9

Audio: PCM Stereo, PCM 5.1

Region Code: 0 (worldwide)

BBC Music Magazine

June 2011


“Thielemann generally favours lively tempos and a lightness of touch. Details are clear and he elicits a remarkable luminosity from the substantial forces, making this a deeply engaging account...The chorus is impressive and the soloists well matched.”

Gramophone Magazine

July 2011

“The orchestra is beautifully balanced internally, with splendid trombones when they enter in the Credo...The big choir, too, sings gloriously over a wide dynamic range. Climaxes are overwhelming but with Christian Thielemann always creating supple phrasing and expressive use of light and shade...Video director Michael Beyer covers the performance most effectively and above all lets us watch the faces of the dedicated performers”

Click here for alternative recordings of this work.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.