Giordano, U: Andrea Chénier

C Major: 707908

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Giordano, U: Andrea Chénier


C Major

Catalogue No:




Release date:

26th Sept 2011




DVD Video




| Share

Giordano, U: Andrea Chénier

from Bregenz Festival 2011

Hector Sandoval (André Chénier), Norma Fantini (Maddalena di Coigny), Scott Hendricks (Carlo Gérard), Tania Kross (Bersi), Rosalind Plowright (Madelon)

Wiener Symphoniker, Ulf Schirmer

DVD Video


Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

Staged by Keith Warner.

After the huge success of Aida, here is the spectacular new production from the Bregenz Festival 2011.

Girodano Umberto’s Andrea Chénier is set against the backdrop of the horrors of the French Revolution and tells the tragic tale of a doomed love affair involving the historical figure of the poet Andrea Chénier, who initially champions the Revolution but later turns against its leaders, before ending up on the scaffold.

Staged by Keith Warner who has worked at major opera houses including Bayreuth, Covent Garden, Vienna etc.

Stage designer David Fielding has worked at important opera houses and with bands including the Pet Shop Boys

“Giordano’s music is verismo of the very highest caliber and drives the high voltage plot forward with breathtaking speed.” Artistic director David Pountney

Total: 120 minutes

DVD: DTS 5.1, PCM Stereo

Gramophone Magazine

January 2012

“The picture's watery location both suits Bregenz's lake stage and gives Warner space to layer Illica's actions...hugely recommended - a fine mix of spectacle of spectacle and intelligent interpretation.”

MusicWeb International

January 2012

“this unusual production’s pluses outweigh the minuses... the three principals have powerful and skilled voices. I was especially impressed by Hector Sandoval in the title role. He looks the part, acts naturally and sounds suitably heroic, especially in the showpiece final lovers’ duet”

Click here for alternative recordings of this work.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.