Beethoven: Piano Concertos Nos. 1-5 (complete)

C Major: 708904

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Beethoven: Piano Concertos Nos. 1-5 (complete)


C Major

Catalogue No:




Release date:

3rd Jan 2012






| Share

Beethoven: Piano Concertos Nos. 1-5 (complete)



Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

After decades of work on Beethoven’s original scores, the Austrian pianist Rudolf Buchbinder offers a definitive interpretation of all Beethoven’s piano concertos in this series of live recordings of his ecstatically acclaimed performances in the Musikverein Vienna from May 2011. Buchbinder conducts the Vienna Philharmonic from the keyboard and achieves a rare degree of tension and chamber-like concentration.

Rudolf Buchbinder is firmly established as one of the most important pianists on the international scene, he is a regular guest of renowned orchestras such as the Berlin Philharmonic, Vienna Philharmonic, New York Philharmonic, Orchestre National de France, London Philharmonic, National Symphony, and the Philadelphia Orchestra. He also has over 100 recordings to his credit.

In December 2011 Rudolf Buchbinder celebrated his 65th birthday.

Bonus: 30 minutes Documentary about Rudolf Buchbinder, plus interview with Joachim Kaiser.

Running Time Total: 216 minutes

Piano Concertos: 186 min.

Bonus: 30 min.

DTS-HD MA 5.0, PCM Stereo

Gramophone Magazine

June 2012

“a man who plays Beethoven with the innocent self-assurance of the virtuoso...He is happiest when his hands are full: in the finales, for instance, where the forthrightness and his technical address are admirable and he can cook iup a storm or two.”

MusicWeb International

May 2012

“these performances are deeply felt and as the talk on the disc confirms, very thoroughly researched by Buchbinder who compares many different editions of the works he is performing.”

Click here for alternative recordings of this work.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.