Leonard Bernstein conducts Beethoven & Haydn

C Major: 711508

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Leonard Bernstein conducts Beethoven & Haydn


C Major

Catalogue No:




Release date:

30th July 2012




DVD Video





Up to 25% off C Major

click here for full details

special offer ends 27/03/2017

| Share

Leonard Bernstein conducts Beethoven & Haydn


String Quartet No. 16 in F major, Op. 135

version for String Orchestra


Mass, Hob. XXII: 9 in C major 'Paukenmesse'

Judith Blegen (soprano), Brigitte Fassbaender (mezzo), Claes H. Ahnsjö (tenor), Hans Sotin (bass)

Sinfonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

DVD Video

Normally: $25.25

Special: $20.20

Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

Bernstein delivered a powerful and now legendary live performance of Beethoven’s String Quartet Op. 135 – transcribed for String Orchestra and performed by the Vienna Philharmonic. For the first time ever this performance is now being released on DVD and Blu-ray.

Another definitive Bernstein performance debuting now on both mediums is the enigmatic maestro’s reading of Haydn’s Missa in tempore belli, filmed live in concert at Ottobeuren in 1984, using to maximum effect the deeply impressive setting of the monastery’s magnificent Baroque basilica.

Running Time Total: 93 minutes

DVD: DTS 5.1, PCM Stereo

Subtitles Haydn: English, German, French, Spanish, Korean, Chinese

BBC Music Magazine

December 2012


“Beethoven's last quartet, expanded for full strings, sounds nicely urgent but unsuitably Romantic. Haydn's Mass is almost upstaged by its glorious setting, the Baroque basilica at Ottobeuren.”

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.