Schumann at Pier2

C Major: 712108

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Schumann at Pier2


C Major

Catalogue No:




Release date:

3rd Dec 2012




DVD Video




| Share

Schumann at Pier2

A concert film by Christian Berger

Includes excerpts from:

Symphony No. 1, Spring, Op. 38

Symphony No. 2, Op. 61

Symphony No. 3 Rhenish, Op. 97

Symphony No. 4, Op. 120

DVD Video


Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

Schumann at Pier2 is not a usual documentary; it explains the whole idea behind the project and contains footage from rehearsals, comments from Paavo Järvi about the symphonies and the interpretation, biographical information about Robert Schumann as well as musicians demonstrating salient passages and explaining their interpretation.

According to the press and audience their aim was impressively achieved: “Järvi is always animated and alert to the music’s expressive potential: he achieves the best of both worlds.” - Gramophone

Stars of the film are the conductor Paavo Järvi and the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen and they aim to present these works to a young audience.

Picture Format: 16:9, HD

Sound Format: DVD: DTS 5.1, PCM Stereo

Running Time: 116 mins (Documentary: 98 mins, Making of 18 mins)

Subtitles: German, English, French, Spanish, Chinese, Korean

Gramophone Magazine

March 2013

“This is the sort of set that makes me grateful that classical recordings are still being made. As a refresher course in Schumann symphonies, you won't find anything better...I can't imagine any sensitive music lover failing to respond to this artistically exceptional, beautifully filmed and expertly engineered set.”

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.