Bellini: La Sonnambula

C Major: 714004

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Bellini: La Sonnambula


Gramophone Magazine

DVD/Blu-ray of the Month - March 2014


C Major

Catalogue No:




Release date:

23rd Sept 2013






| Share

Bellini: La Sonnambula

Giovanni Battista Parodi (Rodolfo), Julie Mellor (Teresa), Jessica Pratt (Amina), Shalva Mukeria (Elvino)

Orchestra e Coro del Teatro La Fenice, Gabriele Ferro



Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

Staged by Bepi Morassi

La Sonnambula is Bellini´s first masterpiece, which brought him great fame.

The exceptional singer Jessica Pratt's schedule has included performances at the Vienna State Opera, La Scala, Opernhaus Zürich and Covent Garden, working with conductors such as Vladimir Ashkenazy, Kent Nagano, Sir Colin Davis and Christian Thielemann.

Bepi Morassi's staging was described by the prestigious daily Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung “a spirited and witty new production.”

MusicWeb International

18th December 2013

“[Pratt] lacks Pasta’s lower range, but is spectacularly secure and pure above the stave. She is not frightened to give the vocal pyrotechnics her all when the opportunity arrives...At the end, I felt that director, Bepi Morassi and set designer, Massimo Checchetto had done a good job.”

BBC Music Magazine

February 2014


“Bepi Morassi's production...takes the piece with a pinch of irony, but arguably no more than intended by its creators...Pratt's blonde bombshell of an Amina shows good range of technical skills and moves around most of the notes with confident ease...Orchestra and chorus are both excellent.”

Gramophone Magazine

March 2014

“Pratt vocalises the put-upon heroine with skill and beauty...[Mukeria] clealy knows his way well round Elvino's far from easy notes, and sounds suitably Romantic. [Parodi] is wholly convincing in voice and action. [Ferro], an experienced and classy conductor of this repertoire, is on terrific form, as is his orchestra...Morassi's direction has the advantage of taking the piece seriously.”

Click here for alternative recordings of this work.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.