Nights Not Spent Alone

Champs Hill Records: CHRCD125

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Nights Not Spent Alone

Catalogue No:




Release date:

2nd June 2017




70 minutes


CD (download also available)
| Share
Released or re-released in last 6 months

Nights Not Spent Alone

Complete works for mezzo-soprano by Jonathan Dove


My love is mine

Five Am'rous Sighs

All my future days

Cut My Shadow

Nights not spent alone

All You Who Sleep Tonight

Kitty Whately (mezzo), Simon Lepper (piano)



(also available to download from $10.00)

In stock - usually despatched within 1 working day.

In a co-production between Champs Hill Records and the BBC, Kitty Whately returns to the Music Room at Champs Hill to record her second disc with the label, accompanied by distinguished pianist Simon Lepper. Nights Not Spent Alone presents the complete works for mezzo-soprano by Jonathan Dove. It includes a song cycle of the same name dedicated to Whately - and of which she performed the world premiere at the Cheltenham Music Festival in 2015 - as well as other song cycles and the unaccompanied ''My Love Is Mine''. Kitty was also in the very well received of Dove's opera ''Flight'' at Holland Park in June 2015. Kitty Whately says ''A lot of these songs have never been recorded before, and aren't performed nearly as much as they should be. They are so full of charm, wit and very immediate poignancy. I really hope that this album will introduce these songs to many who don't already know them, and encourage more singers to perform them.'' Kitty Whately trained at Chetham's School of Music, the Guildhall School of Music and Drama and the Royal College of Music International Opera School. She won both the Kathleen Ferrier Award and the 59th Royal Overseas League Award in 2011, and was a BBC New Generation Artists from 2013-15, during which time she recorded her debut solo album This Other Eden for Champs Hill Records.

Jonathan Dove: My Love is Mine

My Love is Mine

Jonathan Dove: Five Am'rous Sighs

I. Between Your Sheets

II. Finish

III. My Heart Still Hovering

IV. All These Dismal Looks

V. Venus

Jonathan Dove: All the Future Days

I. Time Being

II. Autobiography

III. Penelope

IV. Spider

V. Martha

VI. The Siren

Jonathan Dove: Cut My Shadow

I. Surprise

II. The Guitar

III. Song of the Dry Orange Tree

Jonathan Dove: Nights Not Spent Alone

I. Recuerdo

II. What lips my lips have kissed

III. I Too Beneath Your Moon

Jonathan Dove: All You Who Sleep Tonight

I. Condition

II. Telephone

III. Across

IV. Prandial Plaint

V. Interpretation

VI. Mistaken

VII. God's Love

VIII. Dark Road

IX. Door

X. Night Watch

XI. Voices

XII. Soon

XIII. All You Who Sleep Tonight

Sunday Times

28th May 2017

“Beautifully sung, with crystalline diction”

Gramophone Magazine

August 2017

“We can only hope that following this outstanding release Dove will not avoid future opportunities to write mezzo-soprano song-cycles.”

Choose Format:

What is MP3 and FLAC?

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.