Strauss, R: Arabella

Electric Picture: EPC03DVD

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Strauss, R: Arabella

Catalogue No:




Release date:

1st Oct 2012




DVD Video




| Share

Strauss, R: Arabella

2012 Vienna State Opera

Emily Magee (Arabella), Genia Kühmeier (Zdenka), Tomasz Konieczny (Mandryka), Michael Schade (Matteo), Wolfgang Bankl (Count Walder) & Zoryana Kushpler (Adélaïde)

Chorus of the Vienna State Opera, Orchestra of the Vienna State Opera & Stage Orchestra of the Vienna State Opera, Franz Welser-Möst (conductor) & Sven-Eric Bechtolf (stage director)

DVD Video


Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

Set Designer Rolf Glittenberg

Costume Designer Marianne Glittenberg

Hofmannsthal’s untimely death meant he never finalised the libretto, leaving many ambiguities in the story that have to be resolved by the Director and singers of each production.

‘The American soprano is at home with the sweet-bitter universe of Richard Strauss and marvellously handled the delicate art of these “conversations in music”. Franz Welser-Möst reconfirms that Richard Strauss particularly inspires him’. Forum Opera

BBC Music Magazine

April 2013


“Updated to 1930s Vienna, Sven-Eric Bechtolf's deft staging draws quality characterisations from everyone, with Tomasz Konieczny's likeable Mandryka outstanding. Gorgeous Viennese orchestral sounds.”

Gramophone Magazine

January 2013

“superbly constructed, slickly produced and ardently performed by singers and orchestra alike. Don Kent's video direction is unobtrusively natural...More operas should be done this way.”

International Record Review

December 2012

“Simply as an abstract visual object, this is a stunning production...a sumptuous treat, stunning in its colour, clean in its art-deco inspired lines and brimming with subtly illuminating details...Magee may not have the luminous voice of Renee Fleming...but once she warms up she's generally got what the role demands. Even in the more intricate passages, she doesn't scant the details. Both of the main rivals for her affections are excellent.”

Click here for alternative recordings of this work.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.