Handel: Il Trionfo del Tempo e del Disinganno, HWV46a

Erato: 9029581936

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Handel: Il Trionfo del Tempo e del Disinganno, HWV46a



Catalogue No:




Release date:

2nd June 2017




DVD Video




| Share
Released or re-released in last 6 months

Handel: Il Trionfo del Tempo e del Disinganno, HWV46a

Festival d’Aix-en-Provence, 2016

Sabine Devieilhe (Bellezza), Franco Fagioli (Piacere), Sara Mingardo (Disinganno), Michael Spyres (Tempo) with the participation of Christine Angot

Le Concert d’Astrée, Emmanuelle Haïm (conductor) & Krzysztof Warlikowski (stage director)

DVD Video


In stock - usually despatched within 1 working day.

Stage designer – Malgorzata Szczesniak

Dramaturge – Christian Longchamp

Lighting designer – Felice Ross

Choreography – Claude Bardouil

Video designer – Denis Guéguin

Musical Assistant – David Bates

Language Coach – Rita de Letteriis

Stage Director Assistant – Marielle Kahn

Stage & Costumes Designer Assistant – Barbara Creutz

Video Assistant – Fabien Laubry

Festival d'Aix-en-Provence has firmly established itself as France’s preeminent summer festival and is a key fixture on the international festival calendar. It is particularly in the field of opera that the Festival d'Aix-en-Provence continues to break new ground and this release from the 2016 festival demonstrates that. In this new staging – a coproduction with the Opéra de Lille, Théâtre de Caen – Emmanuelle Haïm directs Le Concert d’Astrée with a star-studded cast including Franco Fagioli, Sara Mingardo, Michael Spyres, and exclusive Erato artist Sabine Devieilhe.

Translated as “The Triumph of Time and Disillusionment” Handel’s first oratorio was one he would continue to revise throughout his life. The first version, heard here, was written and premiered in Rome in 1707 to a libretto by Cardinal Benedetto Pamphili. It tells the story of the narcissistic Bellezza, her relationship with the deceitful Piacere, and her journey towards goodness, truth and inner beauty. It famously includes “Lascia la spina”, the first version of an aria he recycled for his opera Rinaldo – “Lascia ch'io pianga” – arguably his most famous aria.

Running time: 138 min. approx.

Languages: Sung in Italian

Subtitles: Italian, French, German, English

Audio specs: Stereo PCM 2.0

Dolby Digital 5.1

NTSC – All regions – 16:9

Click here for alternative recordings of this work.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.