Bernardo Pasquini: Suites and Variations

Etcetera: KTC1532

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Bernardo Pasquini: Suites and Variations



Catalogue No:




Release date:

3rd July 2015




| Share

Bernardo Pasquini: Suites and Variations

Pasquini, B:

Corrente con Variazione in A la mi re

Suite in E per l'Inglese di Scozia Cekm22

Tastata per il Signor Melani

Partite diversi di follia

Suite in B major

Toccata Quinta in E minor

Variazioni in C minor 'per Francia'

Suite in B minor

Variazioni in C major 'per Petronilla'

Toccata in B major

Suite in G minor

Passacagli in G minor

Variazioni d'Invenzione in d. sol re

Suite in A minor

Lydia Maria Blank (harpsichord)



Usually despatched in 4 - 5 working days.

Bernardo Pasquini (1637–1710) is considered as the most important Italian composer of keyboard music between Girolamo Frescobaldi (1583–1643) and Domenico Scarlatti (1685–1757). Together with Alessandro Melani (1639–1703), Alessandro Stradella (1644–1682) and Alessandro Scarlatti (1660–1725), he was also one of the most successful composers of Roman oratorios and operas. And as a harpsichordist he was a sorts of alter ego of the highly revered Arcangelo Corelli (1652–1713). Both often worked together and, along with Alessandro Scarlatti, were honourably admitted into the Accademia dell’Arcadia on 26 April 1706. Numerous pupils made the pilgrimage from all over Europe to study with Pasquini, including Francesco Gasparini, Giovanni Maria Casini, Georg Muffat, Johann Philipp Krieger and Domenico Zipoli. George Frideric Handel and Domenico Scarlatti must also have known the composer and his playing.

Gramophone Magazine

September 2015

“Blank, a harpsichordist whose previous recordings suggest a relish of tougher assignments than this, certainly finds in [Pasquini] a vein of eloquence and sureness of touch at the keyboard that make his contemporary reputation understandable.”

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.