My Favourite Opera: Barbara Hendricks

EuroArts: 2001818

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
My Favourite Opera: Barbara Hendricks



Catalogue No:




Release date:

2nd Jan 2013




DVD Video





Summer Opera Sale

click here for full details

special offer ends 11/09/2017

| Share

My Favourite Opera: Barbara Hendricks


Don Pasquale

Barbara Hendricks (Norina), Gabriel Bacquier (Don Pasquale), Gino Quilico (Malatesta), Luca Canonici (Ernesto), René Schirrer (Un notaio)

Sinfonietta de Varsovie & Les chœurs du festival, Gabriele Ferro

DVD Video

Normally: $20.25

Special: $8.10

In stock - usually despatched within 1 working day.

My Favourite Opera – a new series of EuroArts: Here we study the results of involvement with a specific role. We witness musical and stage rehearsals in 1991, listen to what the artists have to say about the work in progress and share in private moments.

World famous and distinguished soprano Barbara Hendricks stars as the heroine Norina in Donizetti’s famous comic opera Don Pasquale amongst the great French baritone Gabriel Bacquier, the Canadian baritone Gino Quilico and the Italian tenor Luca Canonici.

Barbara Hendricks’ passion for detail preludes her participation in the fly-by-night operatic scene: it is fascinating to discover how thorough her work is when she sings opera.

The Hungarian feature-film director Márta Mészáros paints a telling picture of the artist at work and portrays with superb photography the idyllic setting of Aix-en-Provence Festival in the South of France.

This intimate portrait of a great opera singer also reveals how an opera production is created at the highest level.

Picture format DVD: NTSC 16:9

Sound format DVD: PCM Stereo

Region code: 0

Languages: English, German, French, Italian

Subtitles: English

Booklet notes: English, German, French

Running time: 55mins

BBC Music Magazine

May 2013


“Visually attractive but leisurely documentary”

Click here for alternative recordings of this work.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.