A Surprise In Texas

EuroArts: 2058168

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
A Surprise In Texas



Catalogue No:




Release date:

31st Aug 2010




DVD Video




| Share

A Surprise In Texas

The Thirteenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition

Bonus: Concert excerpts of the medalists:

Nobuyuki Tsujii (Bass Gold Medal): Franz Liszt: La Campanella • Hungarian Rhapsody

Haochen Zhang (Bass Gold Medal): Igor Stravinsky: Three Movements from “Petrushka“

Yeol Eum Son (Silver Medal): Franz Liszt: Rhapsodie Espagnole

DVD Video


Usually despatched in 3 - 4 working days.

A film by Peter Rosen.

In May 2009, twenty-nine of the world’s best young pianists converged in Fort Worth, Texas for a once in a lifetime chance at gold in the Thirteenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition.

Emmy-winning director Peter Rosen follows these distinctive personalities during a rigorous three-week competition – including intense rehearsals, introspective moments, preconcert rituals and endearing celebrations.

Hailing from 14 countries, competitors were welcomed with Texas-sized hospitality by their host families and immersed in a city best characterized by the Fort Worth Convention and Visitors Bureau’s advertising slogan “Cowboys and Culture.”

With the performances of Chopin, Liszt, Beethoven, Rachmaninov and other piano masterpieces setting the impassioned tone, the result is an intricate inside view into the inner workings of the world’s most prestigious piano competition and a heartwarming story that proves to be a momentous surprise in Texas.

Picture format DVD: NTSC 16:9

Sounds formats DVD: PCM Stereo, DD 5.0, DTS 5.0

Region code: 0

Booklet notes: English, German, French

Running time: 92 mins (documentary) + 48 mins (bonus)

FSK: 0

BBC Music Magazine

January 2011


“The atmosphere of the piano world's most demanding competition comes vividly across, as do the personalities of the finalists: blind Nobuyuki Tsuji wins all hearts as he collects his prize.”

MusicWeb International

“This is a very moving film, which has hints of a reality show, and which shows the trials and tribulations of these excellent young musicians as they face the public and their judges...The bonus feature included with the documentary is 48 minutes of solo performances by the medal winners. Given that during the documentary only short bits are shown, it is nice to see and hear these performers at greater length.”

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.