EuroArts: 2058278

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.



Catalogue No:




Release date:

1st Aug 2011




DVD Video




| Share



Concerto-Rhapsody for Cello in D minor

Mstislav Rostropovich (cello)

Piano Concerto in D flat major: Third Movement

Eric Bogosian (narrator)

DVD Video


Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

A film by Peter Rosen

Written by Bill van Horn and Solomon Volkov

This film is about the life of Khachaturian - a composer creating in the darkness of a tragic era. As we will see, like most Soviet citizens, he hid a complex private life behind a mask of Communist loyalty. Khachaturian was the President of the powerful Composer’s Union of the Soviet Union, and as a communist party functionary wielded great influence over the course of Russian music. However, he was also a comrade and personal friend to the dissident composers of the time – Shostakovich, Prokofiev, and others. This documentary shows the fine line a man had to tread between being a loyal party functionary on the one hand, and a fighter for artistic freedom on the other.


1) Mstislav Rostropovich playing Concerto-Rhapsody for Cello and Orchestra (24 mins)

2) Documentary: Making "Khachaturian" (17 mins)

3) Khachaturian: Piano Concerto - Third Movement (9 mins)

Picture format DVD: NTSC 4:3

Sounds formats DVD: PCM Stereo

Region code: 0

Booklet notes: English, German, French

Original Languages: English, Russian

Subtitles: English, Russian, Deutsch, Français, Japanese

Running time: 83 mins (+ Bonus: 24 mins, 17 mins, 9 mins)

Gramophone Magazine

February 2012

“If this film falls between several stools, that very fact is an interesting symptom of the post-Soviet era. Perhaps the strongest points are some beautiful images of Tbilisi and Yerevan, a complete filmed performance of the Concerto-Rhapsody under the composer's baton with Rostropovich as soloist, and some thoughtful comments from composer Tigran is hard to see anyone lining up to do better.”

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.