Masters of American Music

EuroArts: 2058938

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Masters of American Music



Catalogue No:




Release date:

31st Oct 2011




DVD Video




| Share

Masters of American Music

DVD1: Lady Day - The Many Faces of Billie Holiday: Aimed at the aficionado and novice alike, this documentary swings, both visually and aurally. What a Little Moonlight Can Do, You can’t Take That Away From Me, Lover Man, On the Sunny Side of the Street, God Bless the Child, Strange Fruit, Fine and Mellow, and Swing, Brother, Swing (among many others) all come brilliantly to life on the screen.

DVD2: Celebrating Bird - The Triumph of Charlie Parker is the first and only authorized documentary about one of the great legends in American music.

DVD3: Sarah Vaughan - The Divine One: This production recounts the stellar singer’s career of Sarah Vaughan, from her beginnings at the Mt. Zion Baptist Church in Newark, New Jersey, to her debut at the Apollo Theater and her pre-eminence in nightclubs, concert halls and jazz festivals around the world.

DVD4: Thelonious Monk - American Composer: Pianistic ringleader of the bebop revolution, Thelonious Monk is maybe Jazz’ major composer after Duke Ellington.

DVD5: The Story of Jazz: The Story of Jazz puts the crown on the brilliant, highly acclaimed Masters of American Music Series, which has profiles some of the music’s pivotal figures: John Coltrane, Sarah Vaughan, Miles Davis, Count Basie, Thelonious Monk, Billie Holiday and Charlie Parker. The film places these important artists into historical context, allowing us to see them in the proper perspective.

DVD Video - 5 discs


Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

Masters of American Music is an award-winning television series – as entertaining as it is educational and memorable – that celebrate a pantheon of the greatest innovators in Jazz. Individual programmes trace the lives and works of master musicians who defined the course of America’s classical music. From its birth in New Orleans, to swing, the big bands, bebop, free Jazz and beyond – all of it is explored with sensitivity and in unique depth. Over 80 interviews were filmed in the making of the series. Featured artists come to life through these interviews, exciting rare performances, period footage and vintage photographs meticulously reproduced. Both the video and audio content has been restored and remastered in accordance with state-of-the-art specifications.

Picture format DVD: NTSC 4:3

Sounds formats DVD: PCM Mono 2.0

Region code: 0

Booklet notes: English, German, French

Subtitles: German, English, French

Running time: DVD1 59 mins, DVD2 59 mins, DVD3 56 mins, DVD4 59 mins, DVD5 98 mins

German FSK: 0

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.