Israel Philharmonic Orchestra: 75 years Anniversary Concert & Documentary COMING HOME

EuroArts: 2059098

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Israel Philharmonic Orchestra: 75 years Anniversary Concert & Documentary COMING HOME



Catalogue No:




Release date:

1st Oct 2012




DVD Video




| Share

Israel Philharmonic Orchestra: 75 years Anniversary Concert & Documentary COMING HOME

a film by János Darvas

Bach, J S:

Partita in D minor BWV1004 - Sarabande


Symphony No. 8 in F major, Op. 93


Poème for Violin & Orchestra, Op. 25


Piano Concerto No. 1 in E minor, Op. 11

Evgeny Kissin (piano)


Introduction & Rondo capriccioso, Op. 28

Vadim Repin (violin) & Julian Rachlin (violin)

Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, Zubin Mehta

DVD Video - 2 discs


Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

The Israel Philharmonic Orchestra - a cultural icon of Israel and one of the greatest classical ensembles in the world - celebrated its 75th Birthday on December 26th, 2011 together with three outstanding soloists of the younger generation – Julian Rachlin, Evgeny Kissin and Vadim Repin. The concert took place in the spectacular Hangar 11 at the harbor in Tel Aviv. Zubin Mehta conducted a spectacular programme of Saint-Saëns, Bach, Chopin, Chausson and Beethoven.

The film ‘Coming Home’ by János Darvas portrays the orchestra and tells of its moving history, which is both a reflection of the history of Israel and the fate of the Jews in the 20th Century. With texts from memoirs, with material from radio interviews, home movies and photos from the orchestra’s archives, as well as from private collections, the film will not only tells the story of the orchestra, but draws parallels to the fates of many individuals. Historical footage brings the 75-year history of the orchestra to life in concerts with Arturo Toscanini, Arthur Rubinstein, Leonard Bernstein, Isaac Stern, Zubin Mehta, Daniel Barenboim and Itzhak Perlman. Interviews with orchestra members from the early years weave through talks with musicians that joined later, and with current orchestra members. Moreover, Zubin Mehta, Daniel Barenboim, Itzhak Perlman and Pinkas Zukerman have their say. We also get the opportunity to watch the Israel Philharmonic in rehearsals, concerts and tours.

Part of the EuroArts Israel Philharmonic Anniversary Campaign with two more must have releases:

- 75 years anniversary concert & documentary “Coming Home” (Cat. No. DVD 2059098 + Cat. No. BD 2059094)

- Israel Philharmonic Orchestra Anniversary Edition - 5 DVDs Box Set incl. Classic Archive: Arthur Rubinstein plays Chopin (Cat. No. 3079638), Israel Philharmonic Orchestra: 70th-Anniversary Concert (Cat. No. 2055878), Bernstein conducts Brahms (Cat. No. 2072048) + New Israel Philharmonic Orchestra: 60th-Anniversary, Concert, 1996 & Joint Concert, 1990.

Picture format DVD: NTSC 16:9

Sound formats DVD: PCM Stereo, DD 5.1, DTS 5.1

Region code: 0

Subtitles: English

Booklet notes: English, German, French

Running time: 148 mins (95 mins Concert + 53 mins Documentary)

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.