Sergiu Celibidache

EuroArts: 2059118

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Sergiu Celibidache



Catalogue No:




Release date:

28th May 2012




DVD Video





Box Sets - up to 50% off

click here for full details

special offer ends 21/01/2015

| Share

Sergiu Celibidache


Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor, Op. 15

Daniel Barenboim (piano)

Münchner Philharmoniker

Piano Concerto No. 2 in B flat major, Op. 83

Daniel Barenboim (piano)

Münchner Philharmoniker


Images for orchestra: II. Ibéria

Münchner Philharmoniker

Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune

Münchner Philharmoniker


Symphony No. 9 in E minor, Op. 95 'From the New World'

Münchner Philharmoniker


Symphony No. 1 in D major, Op. 25 'Classical'

Rehearsal and performance

Münchner Philharmoniker



Münchner Philharmoniker

Alborada del gracioso (orchestral version)

Münchner Philharmoniker

Rapsodie Espagnole

Münchner Philharmoniker

Rimsky Korsakov:

Scheherazade, Op. 35

Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart des SWR


Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 54

Daniel Barenboim (piano)

Münchner Philharmoniker

Strauss, R:

Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche, Op. 28

Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart des SWR


Piano Concerto No. 1 in B flat minor, Op. 23

Daniel Barenboim (piano)

Münchner Philharmoniker

DVD Video - 5 discs

Normally: $59.00

Special: $44.25

Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

This box contains five splendid productions of Sergiu Celibidache (28 June1912 – 14. August 1996) for his 100th Anniversary.

He was one of the most charismatic, talented and fascinating conductors of all time; his profound knowledge of instrumental frequencies and acoustic science made him a genius of sound.

The five DVD-titles in this magnificent box-set present him conducting some of the most beloved pieces in the world, in concert and in valuable, rarely-seen rehearsal footage. He is joined by Daniel Barenboim (who dubbed him ‘one of the greatest musicians I ever encountered’), Hans Kalafusz, the Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart des SWR, and his beloved Münchner Philharmoniker, in a illuminating and moving set of performances.

Highly acclaimed, fascinating and dazzling productions - A real must-have!

Picture format: NTSC 4:3 ∙ Region code: 0 ∙ German FSK: 0

Sound Formats: DVD 1,2&5: PCM Stereo, DVD 3: PCM Mono, DVD 4: DD 2.0

Booklet Notes: GB, D, F ∙ Subtitles: DVD 3&5 GB, D, F, (DVD 5: + E)

Running Time: 511 mins (DVD1 81 mins; DVD2 111 mins; DVD3 114 mins; DVD4 101 mins; DVD5 104mins)

MusicWeb International

November 2012

“admirers will find much to interest them...It’s notable for the richness of Celibidache’s verbal pointers...the longish Strauss rehearsal will merit a place on your shelf. It is an interesting character study - of control, relaxation, terseness and more floridly encouraging praise. Psychologically it’s a rewarding half an hour plus - and the performance shows the translation of those ideas and ideals in fine fashion.”

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-14 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.