Dvorak & Schumann: Piano Concertos

Hyperion: CDA68099

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Dvorak & Schumann: Piano Concertos


Presto Disc of the Week

1st April 2016



Catalogue No:




Release date:

1st April 2016





Hyperion & Helios - up to 50% off

click here for full details

special offer ends 20/11/2017

| Share

Dvorak & Schumann: Piano Concertos


Piano Concerto in G minor, Op. 33


Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 54


Normally: $15.00

Special: $11.70

Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

Read Presto's complete review of this disc here.

Two more rich piano concertos from the unparalleled Stephen Hough and the CBSO (they’ve already won Gramophone’s Record of the Year award twice). The eminent Andris Nelsons conducts, making his Hyperion debut. Schumann and Dvořák each wrote just one piano concerto, the latter being performed here in its fearsomely challenging original version.

Antonín Dvořák: Piano Concerto in G minor, Op. 33

1. Allegro Agitato

2. Andante Sostenuto

3. Allegro Con Fuoco

Robert Schumann: Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 54

1. Allegro Affettuoso

2. Intermezzo: Andantino Grazioso

3. Allegro Vivace

Gramophone Magazine

April 2016

“Andris Nelsons and the CBSO clearly relish the symphonic nature of the [Dvorak] and their playing is one of the great pleasures here…Hough enters the conversation with great subtlety and he's certainly unafraid to point out the score's lyrical beauties, allowing the music to unfold with suppleness without underplaying its drama or, where required, heft”

Sunday Times

17th April 2016

“Few pianists have championed Dvorak’s early concerto, so when a player of Hough’s calibre does, one takes notice. He makes as good a case as I have heard for the work...Hough could hardly have more sympathetic partners than the CBSO and Nelsons. Worth owning for the Schumann alone.”

BBC Music Magazine

May 2016


“Hough joins forces with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra and Andris Nelsons for a robust, grand reading that nonetheless leaves room for lyricism and introspection…[but it's in the Dvorak] that Hough truly sparkles. There's glowing tenderness, irresistible buoyancy and soaring grandeur in the first movement, Grieg-like lyricism in the Andante sostenuto…while the Finale has infectious spirit. The CBSO's playing is smart and colourful.”

Presto Classical

James Longstaffe

1st April 2016

“Hough's passagework is a model of clarity, never overpedalled, and you can really hear all of the intricacies and rhythmic quirks of Dvořák's writing. The contribution from the CBSO should in no way be underestimated either, thanks to Andris Nelsons's sensitive and sympathetic conducting...I constantly felt that everyone involved had exactly the same focus and artistic goals.”

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.