The Pyongyang Concert

Medici Arts: 2056944

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
The Pyongyang Concert


Presto Disc of the Week

6th October 2008

Catalogue No:




Release date:

29th Sept 2008







Arthaus and Euroarts Sale - up to 60% off

click here for full details

special offer ends 19/06/2017

| Share

The Pyongyang Concert

East Pyongyang Grand Theatre, Pyongyang - North Korea, 26th February 2008


Symphony No. 9 in E minor, Op. 95 'From the New World'


An American in Paris, tone poem


Lohengrin: Prelude to Act 3


Normally: $33.75

Special: $23.62

Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

Read Presto's complete review of this disc here.

Hundreds of millions watched the historic concert on television. Now exclusively on DVD: the New York Philharmonic concert in Pyongyang.

Music became diplomacy when this courageous musical project united Americans and North Koreans.

The musicians went from strength to strength in a beautiful programme which illustrated the excellence of the orchestra.

Lorin Maazel once more proved his reputation as one of the best contemporary conductors.

Includes previously unreleased documentary with 53 min of exclusive material.

The first classical concert release on Blu-ray Disc offers professional technical standards in the comfort of your own home.

"Astounding was the fact that the orchestra played the North Korean national anthem and the Star Spangled Banner on a stage flanked by flags of both nations … a rare moment of harmony, proving the power of music that bridges the divides." The Korea Times (South Korea)

"For at least 90 minutes in a theatre in Pyongyang it was possible … to believe that 55 years of cold-war hostility were coming to an end." James Miles, The Economist

Presto Classical

Chris O'Reilly

6th October 2008

“Both fascinating and enjoyable, this comes warmly recommended.”

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.