Schubert - Piano Works Volume 4

Medici Arts: 2057838

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Schubert - Piano Works Volume 4

Catalogue No:




Release date:

24th Aug 2009




DVD Video




| Share

Schubert - Piano Works Volume 4

Alfred Brendel Plays & Introduces Schubert


Piano Sonata No. 19 in C minor, D958

Moments Musicaux (6), D780, Op. 94

Klavierstücke (3), D946

DVD Video


Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

DVD: NTSC 4:3,

PCM Stereo, DD 5.1, DTS 5.1,

Region code: 0,

Original language: German,

Subtitles: Eng, Ger, Fr, Spanish

Alfred Brendel was the most outstanding exponent of Schubert's piano music until his retirement last year: a man capable of bringing it to vibrant life but also serving its poetic intensity and intellectual depth.The series, shot in 1976/1977, has never been shown since and therefore each volume embodies a document of historical importance. Each piece is introduced by Alfred Brendel himself, throwing light on its compositional substance and revealing his own relationship with these masterpieces, and complete performances under studio conditions.

"If I belong to a tradition it is a tradition that makes the masterpiece tell the performer what he should do and not the performer telling the piece what it should be like, or the composer what he ought to have composed." Alfred Brendel

Penguin Guide

2011 edition

“vibrant with poetic intensity yet fully concerned with the works' intellectual depth”

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.