Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli

Medici Arts: 3052318

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli

Catalogue No:




Release date:

30th June 2008




DVD Video




| Share

Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli


Piano Sonata No. 11 in B flat major, Op. 22

Piano Sonata No. 12 in A flat major, Op. 26 'March Funebre'


Ballades (4), Op. 10


Piano Sonata No. 4 in A minor, D537

Filmed at the RTSI Auditorium, Lugano, 7 April 1981

DVD Video


This item is currently out of stock at the UK distributor. You may order it now but please be aware that it may be six weeks or more before it can be despatched.

“I do not play for others, but only for myself in the service of the composer. It makes no difference whether there is an audience or not; when I am at the keyboard I am lost. And I think of what I play, and of the sound that comes forth, which is a product of the mind.“ Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli

Financial Times

“The Italian pianist Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli (1920-95) was a legend in his own lifetime - renowned for his beautifully polished sound, clarity of execution, strict fidelity to the composer and awareness of harmonic subtleties. Everything was planned to the highest degree of musical and technical perfection: Michelangeli was not one for freedoms, excesses, rubatos or outbursts of spontaneity. He played the way he was - with a seemingly unshakeable aristocratic reserve… Brahms's Four Ballades Op.10 benefit most from his introspective approach, especially in the climax to the "Edward" Ballade.”

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-15 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.