Itzhak Perlman

Medici Arts: 3085228

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Itzhak Perlman

Catalogue No:




Release date:

2nd Feb 2009




DVD Video




| Share

Itzhak Perlman


Violin Concerto in B minor, Op. 61

Royal Albert Hall, London, 9/8/1981

BBC Symphony Orchestra, Gennadi Rozhdestvensky


Violin Concerto No. 1 in D major, Op. 19

Royal Festival Hall, London, 22/10/1980

BBC Symphony Orchestra, Gennady Rozhdestvensky


Introduction & Rondo capriccioso, Op. 28

London Coliseum Theatre 25/10/1970

Sadler's Wells Orchestra, Charles Mackerras

DVD Video


This item is currently out of stock at the UK distributor. You may order it now but please be aware that it may be six weeks or more before it can be despatched.

The great Israeli-born violinist Itzhak Perlman has already left a huge number of sound recordings of his interpretations; but it adds an extra dimension to be able to watch him execute, for instance, the brilliant spiccato bowing in Saint-Saëns's Introduction and Rondo capriccioso.A master of the French style through his teacher Ivan Galamian, Perlman at 25 is seen in the first full flush of his talent.Ten years later, the mature soloist shows his total command of the modern Russian style of Prokofiev - at a BBC Symphony Orchestra golden jubilee concert - and the bitter-sweet romanticism of Elgar's massive, virtuosic concerto.

BBC Music Magazine

June 2009


“Perlman is in his prime in the Prokofiev First and the Elgar Concerto, and the steady camerawork doesn't stray far from him or Rozhdestvensky. Both are fiery live performances, as is the even earlier Saint-Saëns.”

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.