Berlioz: Benvenuto Cellini

Naxos: 2110271

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Berlioz: Benvenuto Cellini



Catalogue No:




Release date:

26th Oct 2009




DVD Video





Summer Opera Sale

click here for full details

special offer ends 11/09/2017

| Share

Berlioz: Benvenuto Cellini

Filmed at the Grosses Festspielhaus, Salzburg August 2007

Burkhard Fritz, Maija Kovalevska, Laurent Naouri, Brindley Sherratt, Mikhail Petrenko & Kate Aldrich

Wiener Philharmoniker & Konzertvereinigung Weiner Staatsopernchor, Valery Gergiev

DVD Video

Normally: $28.25

Special: $22.60

Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

Director and Stage Designer: Philipp Stöltz

‘A mixture of futurism à la Metropolis, fantasy à la Batman and quotes from Piranesi’s Carceri, juxtaposed in the form of photo montages, enhanced with . . . robots, a helicopter, a shark and the winged vehicle of a pop star Pope’ Neue Zürcher Zeitung

A high-calibre cast, headed by Burkhard Fritz as the temperamental Renaissance artist and the 26-year-old Latvian soprano Maija Kovalevska as Teresa, the woman with whom he tries to elope.

“[Conductor Valery Gergiev] pulled out all the stops. He whips the Vienna Philharmonic into a delirium similar to that which possibly took hold of the composer.” Der Standard

Total Running Time: 163:35

NTSC: No Region Coding

Aspect Ratio: 16:9

Dual Layer Disc • Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo • Dolby Surround 5.0

Click here for alternative recordings of this work.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.