Rossi, Lauro: Cleopatra

Naxos: 2110279

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Rossi, Lauro: Cleopatra



Catalogue No:




Release date:

26th July 2010




DVD Video




| Share

Rossi, Lauro: Cleopatra

Filmed at the Arena Sferisterio, Macerata, Italy, 24/29 July 2008

Alessandro Liberatore (Marco Antonio), Paolo Pecchioli (Ottavio Cesare), Sebastian Catana (Diomede), William Corrò (Proculejo), Dimitra Theodossiou (Cleopatra) & Tiziana Carraro (Ottavia)

FORM – Orchestra Filarmonica Marchigiana & Coro Lirico Marchigiano ‘V. Bellini’, David Crescenzi

DVD Video


Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

Melodramma in Four Acts

Libretto by Marco D’Arienzo.

First performed at the Teatro Regio, Turin, on 5 March 1876, Lauro Rossi’s penultimate opera Cleopatra caught the public’s attention in the wake of Verdi’s Aïda (1871).

Like that better-known work, it contains some wonderful arias and set pieces, including a marvellous Act 1 banquet scene, Cleopatra’s Act 2 aria, the thrilling ensemble that closes Act 3, and the confrontation between Cleopatra and Octavian in Act 4, all making for compelling viewing and listening.

From the brooding opening scene in which Diomedes foretells the fall of Egypt to Cleopatra’s death scene, this gripping grand opera by one of Italy’s forgotten masters springs vividly to life in this revival filmed at the 2008 Macerata Sferisterio Festival.

Total Running Time: 114:56

NTSC: No Region Coding

Aspect Ratio: 16:9

Dual Layer Disc

Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo

Dolby Surround 5.0

Worldwide Available

International Record Review

November 2010

“David Crescenzi leads his forces in a commendable performance...Diomede is firmly sung by Sebastian Catana, who uses his rounded tones to convey the man's anguish...This is not unburied treasure, but there are certainly pieces that are rewarding. Crescenzi draws enough power from the orchestra for the big numbers.”

Click here for alternative recordings of this work.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.