A Musical Journey: Italy

Naxos: 2110297

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
A Musical Journey: Italy



Catalogue No:




Release date:

28th May 2012




DVD Video




| Share

A Musical Journey: Italy

A Musical Tour of South Tyrol

Music by Handel

DVD Video


Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

The Places

South Tyrol, in Northern Italy, has had a varied history, for many years as part of Austrian territory. The region remains largely German-speaking, although both German and Italian are used. Looming over the territory are the mountains, the Dolomites, with their strange shapes, and the Alps, while the valleys provide fertile ground for the production of wine.

The Music

Music for the tour is taken from four Concerti grossi by Handel. Born in Halle in 1685, Handel had his first musical employment there and then in Hamburg, before moving in 1706 to Italy, where he remained until 1710, when he was appointed Kapellmeister to the Elector of Hanover. He travelled almost at once to London, where he had been engaged to compose an Italian opera, and from 1712 until his death in 1759 settled in England, winning fame first as a composer of Italian opera and then as the creator of English oratorio.

Video Format • NTSC / Colour / 4:3

Audio Format • DTS 5.1 / Dolby Digital 5.1 / PCM Stereo 2.0

Region Coding • No Region Coding

MusicWeb International

December 2012

“This issue opens with spectacular views, including mountains, valleys, lakes and countryside including the vineyards...The visuals are accompanied by Handel concerti grossi, a format popular in its day and well performed here by the Capella Istropolitana conducted with appropriate contrasting vitality and élan as befits many of the landscapes.”

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.