A Musical Journey: Switzerland

Naxos: 2110302

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
A Musical Journey: Switzerland



Catalogue No:




Release date:

30th April 2012




DVD Video





Up to 25% off Naxos

click here for full details

special offer ends 04/07/2016

| Share

A Musical Journey: Switzerland

A Musical Visit to the Abbey of Einsiedeln

Music by JS Bach and Vivaldi

DVD Video

Normally: $9.50

Special: $7.60

Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

The Places

The scenes shown are of the Benedictine Abbey and Church at Einsiedeln, in the Swiss canton of Schwyz. The monastery, in origin dating from the 10th century, was largely rebuilt in the 18th century to designs by Caspar Moosbrugger of Vorarlberg, a former lay brother in the community, and has long been an important centre of pilgrimage to the shrine of the Black Madonna, now in a black marble chapel built in the early 19th century. The impressive interior of the church contains frescos by Cosmas Damian Asam and stucco work by his brother Egid Quirin Asam.

The Music

The tour is accompanied by the third and fourth of the four Orchestral Suites by Johann Sebastian Bach and a Concerto for oboe, violin and continuo by Antonio Vivaldi.

Video Format • NTSC / Colour / 4:3

Audio Format • DTS 5.1 / Dolby Digital 5.1 / PCM Stereo 2.0

Region Coding • No Region Coding

Copyright © 2002-16 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.