France: A Musical Tour of the South of France

Naxos: 2110545

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
France: A Musical Tour of the South of France



Catalogue No:




Release date:

3rd Jan 2012




DVD Video





Up to 25% off Naxos

click here for full details

special offer ends 04/07/2016

| Share

France: A Musical Tour of the South of France

DVD Video

Normally: $9.50

Special: $7.60

Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

The Places • The tour opens with views of the Camargue, the marshy region near Arles with its wild life. Views of the Côte d’Azur are intercut with glimpses of the Munich Glyptothek with its collections of Roman and Greek statuary. Near Arles is the ancient Abbey of Montmajour and the fortified monastery and Abbey on Saint-Honorat, one of the Iles de Lérins. In Arles we see the Roman theatre and necropolis and, at Saint-Rémy-de-Provence, the remains of the ancient Gallo-Greek town of Glanum.

The Music • Music for the tour includes Debussy’s evocative Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune, two Gymnopédies by Erik Satie and Ravel’s two suites from his ballet Daphnis et Chloé, followed by his Introduction and Allegro for Harp, Flute, Clarinet and String Quartet.

Video Format • NTSC / Colour / 4:3

Audio Format • DTS 5.1 / Dolby Digital 5.1 / PCM Stereo 2.0

Region Coding • No Region Coding

Copyright © 2002-16 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.