Mendelssohn & Schumann: Piano Trios

Naxos: 8110185

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Mendelssohn & Schumann: Piano Trios



Catalogue No:







59 minutes


| Share

Mendelssohn & Schumann: Piano Trios


Piano Trio No. 1 in D minor, Op. 49


Piano Trio No. 1 in D minor, Op. 63

Jacques Thibaud (violin), Pablo Casals (cello) & Alfred Cortot (piano)



(Sorry, download not available in your country)

Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days. (Available now to download.)

Felix Mendelssohn: Piano Trio No. 1 in D minor, Op. 49

I. Molto allegro ed agitato

II. Andante con moto tranquillo

III. Scherzo - Leggiero e vivace

IV. Finale - Allegro assai appassionato

Robert Schumann: Piano Trio No. 1 in D minor, Op. 63

I. Allegro appassionato

II. Allegro ma non troppo

III. Andante espressivo

IV. Con fuoco

Gramophone Classical Music Guide


“Tully Potter's introductory note reminds us that it was in Paris, in their later twenties, that these three legendary artists first made music together – just for pleasure. But international acclaim after a public début in 1907 soon led to their devoting a regular part of each year to this sphere for just over the next quarter-century.
We're told that Schumann's No 1 was always one of their recital favourites. Here it's difficult to evaluate their playing in technical terms such as minute attention to expressive detail without loss of flow, impeccable ensemble, and last but not least, choice of tempo (slower than Schumann's suggestions in the searching Langsam,mit inniger Empfindung). The impression is more of intimately shared awareness of, and response to, the music's inner secrets – as if personally communicated to them by the composer himself.
In reproduction you're at once aware of difficulty in doing justice to Thibaud's beguiling violin, notably in the higher reaches of Mendelssohn's agitated opening movement. Here it's outweighed by Casals' sumptuously ripe cello and Cortot's multi-voiced keyboard. But the immediacy and freshness of the playing wins the day in a beautifully nuanced Andante, a delectably mischievous Scherzo, and an unflaggingly urgent finale. Ward Marston's skilful engineering is at its truest and best here.”

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.