Great Conductors - Herbert von Karajan

Naxos: 8111038

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Great Conductors - Herbert von Karajan



Catalogue No:




Release date:

2nd July 2007




76 minutes


| Share

Great Conductors - Herbert von Karajan


Ein Deutsches Requiem, Op. 45

Elisabeth Schwarzkopf (soprano) & Hans Hotter (baritone)

Choral Society of the Friends of Music, Vienna & Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, Herbert von Karajan



(Sorry, download not available in your country)

Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days. (Available now to download.)

Johannes Brahms: Ein deutsches Requiem, Op. 45

I. Selig sind, die da Leid tragen

II. Denn alles Fleisch es ist wie Gras

III. Herr, lehre doch mich

IV. Wie lieblich sind deine Wohnungen

V. Ihr habt nun Traurigkeit

VI. Denn wir haben hier keine bleibende Statt

VII. Selig sind die Toten

Gramophone Magazine

(on the original issue)

“The intonation of some members of the Singverein occasionally wavers — there was no heating in the hall and some probably had not seen a decent meal for a week — but Karajan and Legge were endlessly patient and Schwarzkopf herself stood in the midst of the sopranos in many of the takes to give them added confidence and surety. The result is an articulation of the text so tender, so sad, so telling that one is no longer listening to a performance of a piece of music but to a sublime meditation on sacred texts by men and women all too acutely aware in the aftermath of war of the truth of the words and the sublimity of Brahms's setting of them”

MusicWeb International

“Mark Obert-Thorn’s work seems to have the edge in transparency: try the second movement, around the five minute mark, to hear just what the Karajan of 1947 could achieve texturally...One really receives the impression of Brahmsian vastness…..This performance is forever recommended. That Naxos has provided a transfer at such price and quality zooms the recommendation in on this issue.”

Click here for alternative recordings of this work.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.