Kajanus Conducts Sibelius, Vol. 2

Naxos: 8111394

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Kajanus Conducts Sibelius, Vol. 2



Catalogue No:




Release date:

2nd Jan 2013




61 minutes


| Share

Kajanus Conducts Sibelius, Vol. 2


Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 43

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Belshazzar's Feast Suite, Op. 51

London Symphony Orchestra

Karelia Suite, Op. 11

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Robert Kajanus



(Sorry, download not available in your country)

Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days. (Available now to download.)

Offered a grant in 1930 to broaden international interest in Finnish music through recordings made in London, Jean Sibelius did not hesitate in his choice of a conductor, writing that “there are none who have gone deeper and given [my symphonies] more feeling and beauty than Robert Kajanus”. These thrilling recordings remain a critical reference today, with Kajanus seen as “Sibelius’s most eloquent and perceptive champion… listening to the Second Symphony one senses the extraordinary feeling Kajanus had for the organic nature of Sibelius’s symphonic thought” (The Gramophone). Including the exotic and enticing Belshazzar’s Feast and patriotic Karelia suites, this is the second of three volumes containing Robert Kajanus’s complete Sibelius recordings.

Mark Obert-Thorn, producer and audio restoration engineer

Jean Sibelius: Belshazzar's Feast Suite, Op. 51

I. Oriental Procession

II. Solitude

III. Nocturne

IV. Khadra's Dance

Jean Sibelius: Karelia Suite, Op. 11

I. Intermezzo: Moderato

III. Alla marcia: Moderato

Jean Sibelius: Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 43

I. Allegretto

II. Tempo andante, ma rubato

III. Vivacissimo

IV. Finale: Allegro moderato

BBC Music Magazine

June 2013


“Real magic, from Sibelius's friend and rival Kajanus in well-transferred 1930s mono sound. The performances are fast, perhaps to fit 78rpm discs, yet rich and spirited.”

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.