Prospero Dreaming

Naxos: 8572185

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Prospero Dreaming



Catalogue No:




Release date:

27th April 2009




55 minutes


CD (download also available)
| Share

Prospero Dreaming

New Zealand Guitar Music 1


Suite - Prospero Dreaming


Seventeen Pieces for Guitar

First complete recording

Unpublished Pieces for Guitar

First recording

Gunter Herbig (guitar)



(also available to download from $7.00)

Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days. (Available now to download.)

This is the first comprehensive recorded survey of the guitar music of Douglas Lilburn and David Farquhar, the two pre-eminent composers who enriched New Zealand’s musical culture in the modern era.

Lilburn’s Seventeen Pieces explore the instrument’s wide-ranging potential, alluding to Spanish idioms, the music of Bach and other influences. The other pieces by Lilburn are taken from his unpublished music.

Lilburn’s student, David Farquhar, dedicated his engaging Suite to Ronald Burt, the influential British painter and guitarist, who emigrated to New Zealand in the late 1950s and inspired a new generation of artists to write for and perform on the classical guitar.

The title piece of this disc, Prospero Dreaming, evokes Shakespeare’s famous line from The Tempest: “We are such stuff as dreams are made on”.

“[Herbig’s] playing is incredible, how can you communicate such power with an instrument just made of wood and nylon strings? …Fabulous, totally and extraordinarily fabulous.”

Douglas Lilburn: 17 Pieces for Guitar

No. 1.

No. 2. Rather slow, with freedom

No. 3.

No. 4. Canzona - The Flower of the Sea (arr. of Sings Harry: No. 5 for guitar)

No. 5. Allegro

No. 6. Moderato (with freedom)

No. 7.

No. 8. Con moto

No. 9. With freedom

No. 10.

No. 11. Con moto

No. 12. Allegro commodo

No. 13. Canzona: Semplice, con moto

No. 14.

No. 15.

No. 16.

No. 17.

Douglas Lilburn: Unpublished Piece for Guitar No. 1

Unpublished Piece for Guitar No. 1

Douglas Lilburn: Unpublished Piece for Guitar No. 2

Unpublished Piece for Guitar No. 2

Douglas Lilburn: 4 Canzonas

No. 1. "Unpublished Piece No. 3" (arr. D. Lilburn)

No. 2. — (arr. G. Herbig)

No. 3. — (arr. G. Herbig)

No. 4. — (arr. G. Herbig)

David Farquhar: Suite

I. Prelude

II. Capriccio

III. Ostinato

IV. Rondino

V. Epilogue

David Farquhar: Prospero Dreaming

Prospero Dreaming

Choose Format:

What is MP3 and FLAC?

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.