Markopoulos: Shapes in Motion

Naxos: 8572237

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Markopoulos: Shapes in Motion



Catalogue No:




Release date:

27th July 2009




72 minutes



Contemporary Music - up to 25% off

click here for full details

special offer ends 23/10/2017

| Share

Markopoulos: Shapes in Motion


24 Pyrrichioi Dances: Pyrrichios Dance No. 13, ‘Nemesis’

Shapes in Motion (Piano Concerto)

Triptych for Flute, Strings and Harp


Little Fantasy

Classical Sketches: No. 2. Lamento

Evilia Topia (Sunlit Landscapes)

Marc Grauwels (flute), Dimitri Papatheodorou (piano), Zacharias Spyridakis (Cretan lyre), Dalia Ouziel (piano) & Sophie Hallynck (harp)

Brussels Virtuosi, Brussels Philharmonic – The Orchestra of Flanders & Flanders Opera Symphony Orchestra, Michel Tilkin, Edwig Abrath & Iannis Leonidakis


Normally: $7.00

Special: $5.95

(Sorry, download not available in your country)

Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days. (Available now to download.)

To honour the most representative instrument of his native Crete, Yannis Markopoulos composed his melodious Concerto-Rhapsody for Lyre in which the exotic solo instrument and orchestra display an engaging, symbiotic relationship.

His Triptych awakens the listener’s imagination with the contrasting sonorities of flute, harp and strings, while Shapes in Motion establishes from primordial ideas a harmonious balance between solo piano and orchestra.

The shorter works showcase his graceful musicality, love of ancient myths and concern for the environment.

Yannis Markopoulos: 24 Pyrrichioi Dances

24 Pyrrichioi Dances: Pyrrichios Dance No. 13, "Nemesis"

Yannis Markopoulos: Shapes in Motion

I. Allegro

II. Moderato

III. Allegro presto

Yannis Markopoulos: Triptych for Flute, Strings and Harp

I. Mitir (Mother): Andante moderato

II. Esperio Fos (Evening Light): Adagio

III. Agapi (Love): Andantino scherzoso

Yannis Markopoulos: Concerto-Rhapsody

I. Andantino

II. Allegro moderato

III. Pyrrichios: Presto

Yannis Markopoulos: Little Fantasy

Little Fantasy

Yannis Markopoulos: 2 Classical Sketches

2 Classical Sketches: No. 2. Lamento

Yannis Markopoulos: Evilia Topia (Sunlit Landscapes)

Evilia Topia (Sunlit Landscapes)

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.